Friday, September 21, 2018

Diatonis - The Edge of the Dreamworld - Full Moon Mass

You can "Full Moon Mass" on the album "The Edge of the Dreamworld"

This is a collection of songs recorded between 1984 and 1989.

The songs were created using a Korg Poly-6, Korg M1, Oberhiem OB-8, Casio FZ-1, Casio VZ-1, Ensoniq Mirage (8-bit), Emu Emulator, and a Synergy. Most songs were recorded on to a Teac 3440 4-track 1/4 inch reel to reel tape recorder.

1. Clouds and Mirrors (1989)
2. Mist of Heaven (1988)
3. Beyond the Path (1989)
4. The Sky Below (1989)
5. Full Moon Mass (1984)
6. Waiting for Eternity (1986)
7. Crossing the Boundaries (1984)
8. A Place Within (1989)
9. Speechless (1989)

Sunday, July 29, 2018

Diatonis Paintings (part 2)

Some of my paintings done over the years.

Purchase My Art:
Abstract expressionism is a post–World War II art movement in American painting, developed in New York in the 1940s. It was the first specifically American movement to achieve international influence and put New York City at the center of the western art world, a role formerly filled by Paris. Although the term abstract expressionism was first applied to American art in 1946 by the art critic Robert Coates, it had been first used in Germany in 1919 in the magazine Der Sturm, regarding German Expressionism. In the United States, Alfred Barr was the first to use this term in 1929 in relation to works by Wassily Kandinsky. Technically, an important predecessor is surrealism, with its emphasis on spontaneous, automatic, or subconscious creation. Jackson Pollock's dripping paint onto a canvas laid on the floor is a technique that has its roots in the work of AndrĂ© Masson, Max Ernst, and David Alfaro Siqueiros.

You can find more of my art here:


CD Baby


Saturday, June 23, 2018

Obsidian Volume 6 - Ninth Emanation (NEW)

1. Abyss Chamber
2. Dharma Dogma
3. Da'atu
4. Obscure Remembrance
5. Ninth Emanation
6. The Uninvited

released June 22, 2018

Friday, May 25, 2018


You can find this song on "The Convolving Universe":
1. Elements of Light
2. Lunar Dream
3. Corona Restitution
4. Perhelion
5. Daath
6. Aphelion
7. Aurora
8. Corona
9. Ninth Emanation
10. Cepheid
11. Typhonian
12. Heaven

DVD-Video Version (NTSC Stereo)

The entire album was an experiment recorded in early 1999 sometime using SAWPro (a digital audio editor). The album was release as a CD-r in 2000 and then finally on CD in 2003. The album was created using a process called Convolution, which is a digital signal processing algorithm where the spectral information from one sound (the impulse) is multiplied together with spectral information of another sound (the sound source). Both the impulse and the source sounds can be minutes long and produce some of the most interesting sounds imaginable. I started by playing a simple 4 to 8 note phrase using single and multi-voiced choir samples. I then recorded the resulting phrase into another sampling keyboard and then played it one would a normal piano. I only could play a few notes in each octave or it would start to sound very chaotic. I then convolved these resulting loops with a variety of other sounds (impulses),  and finally mixed these to create the songs. I also used a vocoder in many of the tracks as well as samples of my own voice. As I mentioned before this album was really just an experiment.

I first heard about convolution after reading about it in the manual of my Emu Emax II sampler. It had a convolution function in it that allowed you to convolve for example a single piano note sample with a single string sample. It took forever to render a single sound. I created some really interesting sounds while using vocal samples with 2 or 3 notes. Sometime in 1998 I created a convolution plugin based on Angelo Farina's convolution plugin for SAWPlus (a digital audio workstation). It took forever and crashed all the time, but it allowed me to convolve using long impluse files. Some songs took over 16 tracks where one track would take anywhere from 1 to 3 days to render. I never thought I would put it on an album. The convolution process creates some pretty heavy overtones that made it very difficult to control the sound. This was on of the most difficult albums to master. On the other hand, I delighted at the random element and textures it produced.

Recorded in 1999 released in 2003

Saturday, May 05, 2018

Merge from the 'perception' album

You can find this song on the "perception' album:

1. merge
2. encompass
3. perception
4. plenum
5. trees in mist
6. crescent moon
7. white sand blue water
8. the wind's direction 2

DVD-Audio Version (96kHz / 24-bit / 5.0 Surround)

DVD-Video Version (NTSC Stereo/DTS 5.1)

Saturday, March 10, 2018

Tangential Plateaus

You can find this song on Tangential Plateaus

CD Baby   Amazon   iTunes
1. Moving in Silence
2. Elemental Thoughts
3. Tangential Plateaus
4. Transient Moment
5. Movement 17
6. Sanctuary
7. The Unreality of Time
8. Obscured Connections

Eight hand crafted ambient pieces.

Friday, March 02, 2018

Between Fenceposts

You can find this song on the album Highway 1

iTunes   CD Baby   Amazon

1. Highway 1
2. Tall Shadows
3. Night Drive
4. Currents
5. Between Fenceposts
6. The Wind's Direction

FLAC 5.1 Version (96kHz / 24-bit / 5.0 Surround)
Highway 1 FLAC 5.1 Surround

DTS 5.1 Version (44.1kHz / 5.1 Surround)
Highway 1 DTS 5.1 Surround

DVD-Audio Version (96kHz / 24-bit / 5.0 Surround)

DVD-Video Version (NTSC Stereo/DTS 5.1)

Friday, February 23, 2018

The Secret Doctrine

You can find this song on the album "Obsidian Volume 5 - The Mystic"

Purchase Band Camp

1. The Secret Doctrine  
2. House Haunting  
3. The Mystic
4. I am Silent
5. Peyote Spirit
6. Syncretism

The Secret Doctrine, the Synthesis of Science, Religion and Philosophy, a book originally published as two volumes in 1888 written by Helena Blavatsky. The first volume is named Cosmogenesis, the second Anthropogenesis. It was an influential example of the revival of interest in esoteric and occult ideas in the modern age, in particular because of its claim to reconcile ancient eastern wisdom with modern science. Blavatsky claimed that its contents had been revealed to her by 'mahatmas' who had retained knowledge of humanity's spiritual history, knowledge that it was now possible, in part, to reveal.

Saturday, January 20, 2018

Obsidian Volume 5 - The Mystic

Obsidian Volume 5 - The Mystic

Purchase at Band Camp

1. The Secret Doctrine
2. House Haunting
3. The Mystic
4. I am Silent
5. Peyote Spirit
6. Syncretism

Peyote Spirit

This song can be found on Obsidian Vol. 5 - The Mystic

1. The Secret Doctrine   
2. House Haunting   
3. The Mystic
4. I am Silent
5. Peyote Spirit
6. Syncretism

Purpulish Orange Forest

Saturday, January 06, 2018

Whale Song 2

This song can be found on the album
"Obsidian Volume 3 - Brighter Than a Thousand Suns"
CD Baby iTunes

1. Gravity Chant
2. The Tide Turning
3. Ten Thousand Verses
4. Solar Dream
5. Sorcerer
6. Whale Song 2

Volume 3 of the dark ambient series.

Trees in the Desert

Philip K Dick's The Man in the High Castle