Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Lunar Dream

The music can be found on The Convolving Universe album.  The entire album was an experiment recorded in early 1999 sometime using SAW Pro, a digital audio editor.  The album was release as a CD-r in 2000 and then finally on CD in 2003.   This video was done sometime in 2006.

More Info:

Song List:

1. Elements of Light
2. Lunar Dream (video)
3. Corona Restitution
4. Perhelion
5. Daath (video)
6. Aphelion
7. Aurora (video)
8. Corona (video)
9. Ninth Emanation
10. Cepheid
11. Typhonian XI°


CD Baby:

The album was created using a process called Convolution, which is a digital signal processing algorithm where the spectral information from one sound (the impulse) is multiplied together with spectral information of another sound (the sound source). Both the impulse and the source sounds can be minutes long and produce some of the most interesting sounds imaginable.

I started by playing a simple 4 to 8 note phrase using single and multi-voiced choir samples. I then recorded the resulting phrase into another sampling keyboard and then played it one would a normal piano. I only could play a few notes in each octave or it would start to sound very chaotic. I then convolved these resulting loops with a variety of other sounds (impulses), and finally mixed these to create the songs. I also used a vocoder in many of the tracks as well as samples of my own voice.

The convolution process creates some pretty heavy overtones that made it very difficult to control the sound. This was on of the most difficult albums to master. On the other hand, I delighted at the random element and textures it produced.

Recorded in 1999 released in 2003